Share:
Notifications
Clear all

New Ryzen on previous gen (B450) motherboard isn't always that easy.  

RSS

Olle P
(@olle-p)
Eminent Member Registered
July 24, 2019 04:42  

I had since late last year plans to get my son an upgrade to his computer using 3rd gen Ryzen. (I've been using a Ryzen 5 1600 in my own computer for the last two years.)

Now the new generation is out and it was time to decide what to buy. I opted for a Ryzen 5 3600X and, based on many reviewers' recommendations, an MSI B450 Tomahawk motherboard.

The motherboard (as expected) wasn't updated to the latest BIOS when it arrived, so I used the built in function to do a BIOS update without the need for anything but power and a USB stick.

After the update process the motherboard still didn't recognice the new CPU. ☹️

Looking for advice online I was directed to a thread on Reddit where it became clear that I wasn't alone with this problem. That motherboard model was/is known to have issues with some individual CPUs from the Matisse family.
A newer Beta BIOS was made available and suggested, together with further advice on how to install the BIOS.

Doing a proper installation of the new BIOS:
Reformat the USB stick and only have the new BIOS file on it.
Remove power and battery from the mobo for some time before installing the BIOS onto the board.

That seemed to fix the problem. The CPU was properly identified and everything ran the way it should(*)...
... for about five days. Then the mobo again refused to accept the CPU, and trying the whole BIOS process again, repeatedly, didn't help. 😣

We've switched back to the older motherboard and CPU in my son's computer to keep it running.

Next thing for me to do is to go through testing my older CPU on the new motherboard and the new CPU on my older motherboard (a Gigabyte AB350 Gaming 3) to see if I can isolate which part is causing the problem.

Anyone else with similar experiences?